American Numismatic Association

Board of Governors

Meeting Minutes

Draft for Review/Approval

Regular Meeting Teleconference

Open Session

October 10, 2023

Call to Order - President Thomas Uram

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 PM MDT.

Roll Call - Secretary Sanford Pearl

A quorum of 9 voting Board members were present

Voting Board Members Present: President Thomas Uram, Vice President Mark Lighterman, Governors John Brush, Mary Lynn Garrett, David Heinrich, Lori Kraft, Henry Mitchell, Phyllis Ross, Kenny Sammut.

Non-Voting Attendees Present: Executive Director Kim Kiick, General Counsel Hollie Wieland, Executive Assistant Donna Nunez, Parliamentarian Benjamin Costello, Secretary Sanford Pearl, Past-Presidents Gary Lewis, Dr Ralph Ross, ANA Staff Donna frater, Finance & Budget Committee Chair Larry Baber, Assistant Treasurer Carol Hull, Membership & Outreach Committee Member Ken Sammut, Membership & Outreach Committee Chair Rod Frechette, Museum/Library Committee Member Rick Ewing, Museum/Library Committee & Fund Development Member Carlos Kearns, Bylaws & Ethics Committee Chair Doug Andrews, Exhibits Committee Member Jeff Rosinia, Membership & Outreach Committee Member Bob Mellor.

Non-Voting Attendees Absent: Treasurer Erik Jansen

Agenda Item #1. Approval of Open Session Minutes - President Tom Uram

(231010 OS#1) MOTION by Governor Garrett, second by Vice President Lighterman to approve the minutes of the Board of Governors Open Session Meeting on September 5, 2023.

Discussion: None further.

Vote Passed 9-0-0

Agenda Item #2. Appointment of Counselor to the President – President Tom Uram

ANA Bylaws Article IV, Section 2k: the President, at his or her discretion, shall have the right, from time to time, to appoint as a Special Officer of the Association one or more

individuals to serve during such President's term of office as Counselor to the President, such appointment in each case to be subject to the approval of a majority vote of the Board of Governors. Such individuals shall perform such tasks and responsibilities as may be assigned to them from time to time by the President.

(231010 OS#2A) MOTION by Governor Sammut, second by Governor Heinrich to appoint Carlos Kearns as Counselor to the President, a Special Officer of the Association.

Discussion: President Uram advised that Mr. Kearns would perform special projects as directed by the Board or President. Mr. Kearns would be paid by the ANA.

Roll Call Vote Passed 9-0-0

ANA Bylaws Article IV, Section 4k: ...the elected Board of Governors shall have all authority to... fix the compensation of the Executive Director, non-elected Officers and/or Special Officers.

(231010 OS#2B) (Amended) MOTION by Governor Sammut, second by Governor Brush to set compensation for Carlos Kearns at \$7,500 per year and to provide customary officer up to a maximum of \$5,000 travel expenses per year for him to attend the Florida United Numismatists (FUN), National Money Show®, and World's Fair of Money® and up to two (2) other conventions (five, 5, total) per year for the 2023-2025 term.

Discussion: In response to Governor Sammut's question, President Uram provided his rationale for setting the compensation. In response to Governor Ross's question, President Uram reiterated that the ANA would fund Mr. Kearns' efforts.

After the vote, President Uram commented that as a Special Officer, Mr, Kearns would be able to be compensated for his travel expenses in accordance with ANA procedures.

Roll Call Vote Failed 4-2-3 (For, President Uram, Governor Brush, Governor Ross, Governor Sammut; Against Governor Garrett, Governor Kraft; Abstain Vice President Lighterman, Governor Heinrich, Governor Mitchell)

Agenda Item #3. Committee Appointment Changes – President Tom Uram

In accordance with Article IV, Section 2e of the ANA Bylaws, the nomination of all committee chairs and members is subject to an affirmative vote of the Board of Governors for all committees not otherwise provided for in the Bylaws.

(231010 OS#3) (Amended) MOTION by Governor Garrett, second by Governor Heinrich to approve these changes in the appointment of committee members:

Add Joseph Boling to the Awards Committee.

Add Sarah Barfield to the Exhibits Committee.

Add Robert Mellor to the Seminars Committee.

Add Scott Anderson to the Education Committee

Appoint Pete Gentzler as Staff Liaison on the Marketing Committee. (Deb Muehleisen remains a member of the committee.)

Accept the resignation of Mike Ellis from his committee appointments (Awards and Education).

Discussion: Vice President Lighterman proposed adding Scott Anderson to the Education Committee.

Vote Passed 9-0-0

Agenda Item #4. Selection of Host Club and Host Chairs for the 2024 National Money Show® - President Tom Uram

(231010 OS#4) MOTION by Governor Kraft, second by Governor Ross to select the Colorado Springs Coin Club and Colorado Springs Numismatic Society as Host Clubs and to name David Starling as the Host Chair for the 2024 National Money Show® at the Broadmoor Resort in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Discussion: None further.

Vote Passed 9-0-0

Agenda Item #5. Future Board of Governors Meetings – President Tom Uram

The next regular Board of Governors meeting is Tuesday, October 24 at 5:00 pm MT [4:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm CT/7:00 pm ET] and will focus solely on the FY23-24 budget.

Other upcoming Board of Governors meetings:

Tuesday, November 14 at 4:00 pm MT [3:00 pm PT / 5:00 pm CT/6:00 pm ET] via Zoom. Tuesday, December 12 at 4:00 pm MT [3:00 pm PT / 5:00 pm CT/6:00 pm ET] via Zoom. Friday, January 5 at FUN. (Executive Session at 9:00 am; Open Session at 10:00 am.) Tuesday, February 13 at 4:00 pm MT [3:00 pm PT / 5:00 pm CT/6:00 pm ET] via Zoom. Friday, March 15 at NMS. (Executive Session at 9:00 am; Open Session at 10:00 am.)

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 PM MDT